Cistercian trail in Poland


This tourist trail was marked in 1990 by the Culture Foundation as an all-Poland trail. It encompasses all the Cistercian objects, both those still functioning and those that only uphold the tradition without actual Cistercian presence.

"Following the Cistercian Trail is not just visiting Cistercian monasteries but a trip to the past, a chance to reflect on the spiritual life close to nature, so distant and different from our normal life style in current times. Getting to know the wealth of Cistercian heritage will allow the modern man to expand knowledge of the European roots and provide inspiration for building the present and future.”


Declaration of the Cistercian Order General Chapter
"Of main elements of modern Cistercian life"


Detailed information available on the website of the trail:

Cistercian Cyclist Trail in northern Great Poland


The trail was officially opened 7.10.2007 in Dąbrówka Kościelna, during the inaugurating Cistercian Rally attended by the church and self-government authorities and numerous fans of cycling. The Inter-Commune Association “Puszcza Zielonka” and “Komunikacja” Self-Government Units Association worked together to create the concept of “Cistercian Cyclist Trail” (abbreviated to CSR) on the route from Poznań to Łękno, the first Cistercian-themed cycling trail in Poland.
The route connects historical places and objects connected to the presence of Cistercians in the northern part of Great Poland since the beginning of XII century. It crosses two poviats (Poznański and Wągrowiecki) on the marked roads(numbered E 22 a, b, c) voivodship, poviat and commune roads, and through: Owińska, Wągrowiec, Tarnowo Pałuckie, Łekno and through Skoki Commune. Additionally it leads through attractive natural areas, crosses “Puszcza Zielonka" Landscape Park and “Rynny Doliny Wełny i Strugi Gołaniecko-Wągrowieckiej" Natural Park.

The trail has a shape of a loop, 143 km in length and is marked with an official logo of Cistercian Trail in Poland.

Route: Poznań (start at St. John’s of Jerusalem church) – along Swarzędzkie lake – Wierzenica – Owińska – Kamińsko – Zielonka – Dąbrówka Kościelna – Rejowiec – Antoniewo – Skoki – Lechlin – Wiatrowo – Wągrowiec – Tarnowo Pałuckie – Łekno – Bracholin – Mieścisko – Budziejewko – ending in Dąbrówka Kościelna.

« previous | next »
« back